Discover and experience Fenagh Visitor Centre which is located in the historical village of Fenagh in South Leitrim.
The centre provides a Heritage Area, The Dolmen Cafe, The Monks Den (Kids Soft Play Area) and Conference Centre.
Visit the Fenagh Visitor Centre website
About 3km from Ballinamore lies the ruined medieval church built on the site of an early Christian monastery.
The Abbey was used for a time as a place of Church of Ireland worship until the present church was built nearby circa 1798. The present day abbey ruins date from the fifteenth century.
Nearby is another ruin which was likely residential accommodation for the priests of Fenagh. According to the Book of Fenagh, the founder of the original monastery was St. Caillin who was supposed to have arrived in Fenagh from Dunmore in Co. Galway in the 5th century.
The Abbey had a famous monastic school. A writer of the ‘Annals of the Four Masters’ wrote that the monastery at Fenagh was “celebrated for its divinity school, which was resorted to by students from every part of Europe”.
The local Church of Ireland has a replica of the fine window illustrated.